The board game Candyland is AWESOME. Has always been one of my favorites. I was very surprised when I heard it was going to be made into a movie. This trend is a little weird with studios these days as they seem to green light anything with name recognition. We have a Battleship movie coming, a viewfinder movie too. Candyland is easy though since it has very little back story or even rules to play the game. So recently the screenwriters have said they plan on making an epic film. The scale of Lord of the Rings, just with candy. Some might roll their eyes at this but I think it’s brilliant. A film like this could start a franchise and if they can put some heart into it I think this world could be a lot of fun to watch. So usually you’ll find me against remakes and pointless film adaptations but here for some reason I think this is a great idea. Maybe it’s because unlike remakes this plan allows for some new concepts to grow and possibly show us something we haven’t seen before.

